• Potential debut in tomorrow's Smash

Potential debut in tomorrow's Smash

The injury-hit Central Hinds could be introducing their fourth young debutante of the Dream11 Super Smash season tomorrow after Wairarapa 19-year-old Gemma Sims was named in the squad for the first time.
Sims is the only new name in the twelve named to play the Hinds’ final game in the T20 format this season, against the Canterbury Magicians in Napier — but she will miss out on a chance to make her debut against her identical twin sister Kate Sims in tomorrow’s clash.
Both former CD Under 21 reps, Kate Sims played two games for the Hinds in 2017/18, and is now in her first summer playing for Canterbury whilst on a Lincoln University scholarship, but has not been included in the Canterbury 12 for tomorrow.
Gemma Sims meanwhile comes into the squad for injured co-captain Jess Watkin who dislocated a finger while attempting a catch at the Basin Reserve on Sunday.
“Gemma has been the leading batting performer in Shrimpton Trophy cricket this summer with three half centuries in her last four innings,” said Central Hinds coach Jamie Watkins.
“While it has been obviously disappointing to have a string of our top players go down with injuries, the flip side is we have had an opportunity to introduce up and coming players like [twins] Anna and Kate Gaging and Ocean Bartlett, and now Gemma to the Central Hinds team.”
Watkin’s absence will see co-captain Hannah Rowe take the armband for Napier, with Natalie Dodd named vice-captain.
Hometown WHITE FERN Rosemary Mair (side strain) and spinning allrounder Mikaela Greig (shoulder) remain on the injury bench, expected to return for the upcoming Hallyburton Johnstone Shield when the top of the table Hinds resume their one-day campaign.

The Central Stags have meanwhile named an unchanged squad for the last home match of the T20 season ahead of Finals, under lights tomorrow at McLean Park.
Sitting third on the table, a win will see regular finalists the Stags confirm their spot in this season’s 2v3 Elimination Final to once again meet tomorrow’s opponent, the Canterbury Kings — that match to be held in Auckland, Christchurch or Wellington pending the final standings in the women’s league. 
A win is worth four points. Already holding a four-point lead as well as a healthy net run rate advantage over the Northern Knights - who play their last game of the regular season the following day - even a loss should be enough to see the Stags qualify, but batsman Will Young says the team is fired up to leave nothing to chance.
“We’ve played well enough through the middle of the competiion to earn this points buffer and have got an opportunity now to regain that momentum at the business end of the competition,” said Young.
“The last couple of weeks we have lost that a little of that with the longer breaks between games, but it’s ideal now to be playing the Canterbury Kings tomorrow in our last game before Finals. It’s likely we will be playing them again in the Elimination Final, so it would be good to get one up on them — and then take that momentum in. 
“We would certainly like to get a win before heading into finals and to play the cricket we know we can play.”
Tomorrow's doubleheader begins with the Central Hinds against the Magicians at 3.40PM, one ticket getting spectators into both games, with gates open from 2.40PM. 
Both games are live on Spark Sport and TVNZ Duke and tickets are available from $5 Junior online at www.cdcricket.flicket.nz

McLean Park • Napier

Friday 5 February 2021 



v Canterbury Magicians 3.40PM

Hannah Rowe — captain — Manawatu — WHITE FERNS contract

Natalie Dodd — wicketkeeper — vice-captain — Taranaki — WHITE FERNS contract

Emily Cunningham  — Taranaki

Kate Gaging — Nelson

Kerry Tomlinson — Hawke’s Bay

Claudia Green — Nelson

Melissa Hansen — Wairarapa

Monique Rees — Wairarapa

Gemma Sims — Wairarapa — uncapped

Georgia Atkinson — Manawatu

Anlo van Deventer — Wairarapa

Ashtuti Kumar — Manawatu

 Coach — Jamie Watkins



v Canterbury Kings 7.10PM

Live on SPARK Sport & Duke

Tom Bruce — captain — Taranaki

Doug Bracewell — Hawke’s Bay

Josh Clarkson — Nelson

Dane Cleaver — wicketkeeper — Manawatu

Joey Field — Hawke’s Bay

Jayden Lennox — Hawke’s Bay

Christian Leopard — Hawke’s Bay

Ajaz Patel — Hawke’s Bay, BLACKCAPS contract

Ross Taylor — BLACKCAPS contract

Blair Tickner — Hawke’s Bay

George Worker — Manawatu

Will Young — Taranaki, BLACKCAPS contract

 Coach — Aldin Smith

Assistant Coach — Dion Ebrahim